Respecting One Another

I am going to talk about a topic that I’m not 100% comfortable discussing. But that’s why I started this blog in the first place (besides the fact that it’s for a class requirement). One of the reasons I added a women’s and gender studies minor was to learn more about transgender individuals. One, I fully admit, I do not understand it. And two, I would like to understand it more, because as a future teacher, I am likely to have trans students and I feel it is important to be knowledgeable of some issues they may struggle with.

So far, I’ve learned there’s a difference between one’s biological sex and the gender one chooses to identify as. I still struggle with what it is for a person to be trans. But I also cannot understand what it is like to have ADHD, for example. While I can learn about ADHD all I want, I will never understand what it is like to have ADHD, just as I will never know what it is like to feel I was born as the wrong gender.

Being I grew up in a Christian family, I understand that most people are under the impression that Christians hate trans people. From my personal understanding and upbringing in Christianity, Christians are not to hate anyone. But we are also taught that God does not make mistakes. Some Christians believe being trans is a sin, while some people believe God makes people trans. I am not going to comment on what I personally believe on the matter, as I really don’t know. What I know for sure though, is whether or not one agrees with being transgender or doesn’t understand those who are transgender, does not mean they can be disrespectful or hurtful towards another human being.

Parker Molloy, a trans woman, says in her article “I don’t want ‘special treatment,’ I just want to be respected as a human being, as deserving of dignity as anyone else.” I really agree with this quote. All human beings deserve to have the same rights and respect as anyone else. It shouldn’t matter if they are not in the “norm” with society. Disagreement does not equal disrespect. I have seen liberals attack and disrespect conservatives because of their opposing views. I have seen conservatives tear down and belittle liberals for not agreeing with their opinions. It has to stop.

This is why I wrote about a topic I am little uncomfortable with. I see opinions from both sides and respect both opinions of conservatives and liberals. It all boils down to being able to respect one another, and most importantly, respect those who are trans, regardless of one’s own opinions of the trans community. A Christian value I always practice is “Treat others as you would have them treat you” Matthew 7:12. We all deserve the same respect.

Leave a Reply

